Guides for Family History
On This Page
Purpose of Guides
State Records of South Australia has produced a number of guides to our collection.Titles include: - Ancestors in Archives (2000)
- A Little Flour and a Few Blankets (2002)
- Guide to Records Relating to Women (1988)
- Guide to Records Relating to People of Non-English Speaking Backgrounds (1991)
Related Information:
Go to Top
Ancestors in Archives
Ancestors in Archives is a guide for family historians to South Australia's government archives. The guide is arranged into chapters, and the records described in the chapters include: - Arriving: Passenger lists, applications and nominations for assisted passage and shipping records
- A Place to Live: surrendered crown leases, maps and plans, local government assessment books and some early naturalisation records
- Aboriginal Families: State Records' guides and names indexes, records of the Aborigines' Office and social welfare records
- Rolling out the Red Tape: the Colonial Secretary's Office; birth, death and marriage indexes; and some census and electoral records
- Working Life: records related to people employed in government service e.g. railway workers, teachers and police; and records related to licensing of people working in some industries e.g. publicans, justices of the peace, and mariners
- Readin', 'Ritin' 'n' 'Rithmetic: school records
- When Things Went Wrong: records related to state wards, destitution, insolvency, divorce, hospitals and gaols
- Last Things: inquests, deceased estate records, cemeteries and burial orders.
Ancestors in Archives is available for purchase. Please refer to the link below for details.
Related Information:
Go to Top
A Little Flour and a Few Blankets
A Little Flour and a Few Blankets is a guide to records relating to Aboriginal People in our collection. Please click on the link below for a detailed description of this guide. The guide is available for purchase. Please refer to the link below for details.
Related Information:
Go to Top
Records Relating to Women
Guide to Records Relating to Women refers to archival records held by State Records that are about, or of particular interest to women. The guide covers records from the 1840s through to the 1970s. It is divided into six sections: - education
- health
- immigration
- law
- recreation
- work.
The guide also features appendices that provide information taken from the records cited, including: - Coroner's reports
- registers of female prisoners
- marriage
- de facto
- divorce and desertion records and petitions
- registers of estates administered under the Mental Health Act and the Administration and Probate Act
- lists of women leaseholders and company shareholders
- insolvencies papers
- civil service pay sheets
- inquests.
Guide to Records Relating to Women is available in our Research Centres for reference purposes.
Related Information:
Go to Top
People of Non-English Speaking Backgrounds
Guide to Records Relating to People of Non-English Speaking Backgrounds identifies records that contain information about non-British migrants, including records referring to Asian immigration to the Northern Territory and records relating to Afghan and German immigration. The subject areas covered by the guide are: - community relations
- education
- employment
- health
- immigration
- law
- women.
Guide to Records Relating to People of Non-English Speaking Backgrounds is available in our Research Centres for reference purposes.
Related Information:
Go to Top
|